Archinect
anchor

Best career path for a Urban Designer

justinritchey17

Hi, I am a upper division undergraduate student in a BS Arch, and I want to become a urban designer. However, because urban design is not considered a profession of itself, but a integrated form of architecture, landscape design, and planning, I am trying to decide what graduate degree to get for this career. I want to work on revitalization projects in downtown areas that include working with brownfields and old industrial sites, architectural conservation, street design, public space and parks, and mixed use mixed income urban housing. Public space, new urbanism/TOD and work live housing would be my focus. I also want to have my own consulting firm in which I travel nationally and globally to consult with mayors, planners, and design firms to design master plans for city growth and redevelopment. What graduate education do I need for career path? I know that I want a dual masters to help me stand out and because urban design is a combined field. I have considered dual landscape architecture and urban planning, dual architecture and urban planning, dual urban design and planning, dual landscape architecture and architecture, dual architecture (or landscape arch) and urban design, and real estate development and urban planning (urban design focus). I would probably get a urban design certificate or real estate development certificate. I looked at job requirements for top firms and I noticed that most required a license or degree in architecture or landscape architecture for urban design. I want to be design focused but I am not afraid of the analytical side of planning, but I want to do more then just policy. Also would a license or certification in landscape, architecture, or planning be best? My professor also recommended the PHD route for urban design that I am also considering. I am not sure if I want to work in a architecture firm or city office or both. Thanks for any input, sorry for th