Archinect
anchor

How to find a mentor ? and how to make the maximum IDP hours while studying ?

Adam8023

Hi All, 

I'm an architecture student, M.Arch, and I'm looking to make the maximum doable hours before finishing school. I want to do that because I've started the path to license relatively late and I'm trying to streamline the process as much as I can now. 

My first concern is the mentor. Can any of my professors at school be my mentor (is it unusual to ask ?)  or it has to be an employer ? Is there any other way to find someone to mentor my work ? 

Jun 22, 16 4:36 pm

Mentor must be licensed architect.

also hours that are easy to finish in school:

Site visit with mentor will get you some construction administration hours, if your campus has a campus architect make them your mentor and visit construction sites with them.            ( these are some of the hardest hours to get)

also volunteer to be on design juries for the undergrad studios.

Jun 22, 16 7:23 pm  · 
 · 

Getting a mentor is as easy as asking someone to be your mentor. My mentor is a former professor of mine that I developed a good friendship with. I don't know if that is unusual, but for me, it made perfect sense. He knows what goes on in an architecture office and if I ever have a question about how a typical firm might practice, I would trust his response. I have never had him sign off on any hours because I haven't pursued those options for hours.

People will tell you that ideally a mentor should be someone who is not at the same office you work at. This allows them to give you good advice without worrying about internal office policies or politics, etc. NCARB says that they must be a registered architect. Keep in mind that there are very few opportunities for hours where your mentor will sign off on them compared to the hours your supervisor will need to approve.