Archinect
anchor

From Architecture to Real Estate Development

archKash

Ok so I feel that you should pursue what you are good at and for me that is design and architecture. I am currently majoring in Finance and want to get into an M.arch program. The problem is that -as everyone is probably sick of hearing- the salary is kind of bad with architecture. Does it make sense to go through three years of architecture school, get licensed and then go into real estate development? I am actually learning a lot about real estate from my undergrad. Would a real estate developer with an architecture license have any advantage? It seems like one is more artistic and creative and one is math and logic. I do see a lot of people making the transition.

May 13, 16 10:24 am
Non Sequitur

so many questions.

1. How do you know you can design?

2. Do you know how long the process is the get an architecture license?

3. Are you already independently wealthy that you can be your own client?

4. Who in their right-minds would hire a fresh finance kid with design ambitions the reins of a construction project?

5. You need plenty of hands-on experience to receive a license, double that if you want to develop your own real-estate projects.

May 13, 16 10:32 am  · 
 · 
archKash
  1. Everyone knows what they are good at and not
  2. Three years of architecture school, one year of professional work and an exam
  3. Is everyone going into real estate independent wealthy? Also, my father does a lot of side real estate deals and so he would help me.
  4. How does anyone get into real estate then? Obviously you would need experience as in every field. But would a finance degree coupled with an architecture license look good for real estate?

May 13, 16 10:39 am  · 
 · 
Sam Apoc

Finance + MArch would seem like a good background for real estate development.  Especially if you want to be an architect-led-developer like Jonathan Segal.  Google him if you haven't heard of him already.