Archinect
anchor

Computer Science or Architecture?

confusedtky0

Im a 21 year old student. I did a year in BA Architecture at a good university in the UK and passed the year but then I decided to drop out and do BSc Computer Science at a bad university in the UK. Well it's not bad but it isn't good. I'm about to finish first year of BSc Computer Science but I'm confused.

I don't know whether to continue with Architecture or Computer Science. I LOVE Architecture way more than Computer Science but when it comes down to my grades, I excelled in Computer Science whereas I did mediocre in my first year of Architecture. I have the option to continue onto second year of either Architecture or Computer Science but I don't know which one to do at all... 

I was thinking to either go down the Architecture route completely, the Computer Science route completely, or try and combine both fields? If so, how would I go about this? I've heard that architects who can program are sought after nowadays as it's apparently the future of architecture? (Sorry if I'm wrong I've heard this) I was also thinking if it was possible to do a masters in Architecture after my bachelors in Computer Science but I don't know whether that's possible or not.. please excuse me if I come across as stupid I need clarification.

Can someone maybe help me in deciding? I'd appreciate any help.

May 1, 16 9:25 pm
accesskb

Go for computers if you're good at it.  Architecture might seem fun to you during uni but the real workplace is not all sunny.  You'll be kicking yourself when you have to arrange tiles and toilet layout while getting paid a measly hourly rate xD   You could do your masters in architecture if you decide not to pursue computers anymore.  You could even do an arch thesis related to architecture and computers.  I know some on here have gotten into American uni for Masters having a computer undergrad.  Just make sure you work on creative projects on the side and slowly build your portfolio.