Archinect
anchor

Is the debt worth it?

Yes, the person has a PATH to licensure.

Apr 28, 16 2:04 am  · 
 · 

chasekinefreeman,

Take the job. Work for the architect for 8-10 years. Complete IDP. Get the license in California as one possible option or Washington state or a few others that doesn't require an NAAB accredited degree. Take the ARE.... pass it. Practice and eventually you can do reciprocity to other states and even become NCARB certified when they make an option that is f---ing reasonable.

Apr 28, 16 2:09 am  · 
 · 

Just an idea, chase.

Whether you agree to do it... it's up to you.

Apr 28, 16 2:19 am  · 
 · 

Actually, Geezer, ncarb allows you to earn IDP hours after high school. You just can't sit for the exams until you have a professional degree and IDP done. I graduated with a BA in Arch last year and have been working since then

Um... Chase, your facts are mistaken. It doesn't work that way. NCARB is not the licensing board. Each state has its own licensing board. Each state determines who is qualified to take the exams and what the qualifications are. Some states have multiple paths to licensure.

Apr 28, 16 2:49 am  · 
 · 

Right now, I can name at least ONE state in which you can begin testing without having IDP completed with a 4 year degree. California is one of those states. Chase, you would receive between 3-1/2 and 4 credit, IIRC. All you need is 1 to 1-1/2 years of working experience not completed IDP just work experience under an architect. Then you can begin taking the ARE. It is ideal that you complete most of IDP so that by the time you complete ARE, you are done. Just sayin'

Oh yeah, and you don't need an NAAB accredited degree to qualify. 

Apr 28, 16 3:01 am  · 
 · 
no_form