Archinect
anchor

UPenn or UCLA for Masters?

bwa771

Hi, I'm an international student who has 5-years bachelor's degree in Architecture.

I've applied to many US and Canadian schools for masters program this year, and I've received most of the results. 

After master's program, I'm planning to move to Canada and want to get license there because I will soon get permanent residency in Canada. 

These are the results I've received, so if you have any suggestion or recommendations, please let me know!

1. UCLA 3-year M.Arch 1 

2. UPenn 1.5-year M.Arch II: I've applied to M.Arch 1, but they told me since I have 5-year degree, I should be in MSD in Advanced Architectural Design program.

3. Pratt 1.5-year Master of Science, Architecture (Post Professional) + $15000 scholarship

4. University of Illinois Chicago: 3-year M.Arch 1

5. U of Toronto: 3-year M.Arch 1

Please help me decide where I should go!

Mar 16, 16 12:08 pm
Non Sequitur

take the cheapest.

also, why not just get an M.arch in canada since that's your end goal anyways.

Mar 16, 16 12:09 pm  · 
 · 
lilchan92

You should consider money and where you find yourself fitting best work wise.

UIC March 1 three year program isn't that great I really don't recommend it. I have my under grad degree from them and they are a great school however the friends I have who went into the masters there as well hate it. The program just isn't as strong as it once was nor challenging. The only good part out of it is the connection to Chicago architecture because they definitely have the strongest connection out of any of the schools there.  If they didn't offer you any money don't bother especially since your end goal is Canada.