Archinect
anchor

Are GSD and GSAPP graduates really struggling with salary after graduation?

archKash

Ok so first post so please don't mind my ignorance... especially if your in Harvard. I just hear so much talk about Architecture being a rich mans profession and that it doesn't yield much income. However what about your other degrees? Wouldn't your undergrad help at all? For example, I am majoring in Management/Marketing and hope to one day get into say GSD. If architecture doesn't work out, wouldn't it be very easy to get a marketing job with a marketing degree AND a degree from Harvard (or MIT, Columbia...) It shows creativity, hard work and success. It seems like going to Harvard would also open doors for other grad programs like getting into a great MBA program. It just seems like everyone dismisses their other degrees and a GSD degree would help in getting any creative job- even if its not Architecture.

Mar 9, 16 12:22 pm
Non Sequitur

Most of the folks who complain about post graduation income are the same who thought spending over $200k on an Ivy degree was a smart investment. It takes more than a fancy name on a piece of paper. Diversity of education with spin-off options is worth pursuing, specially since you're unaware of how the architecture profession functions. 

Mar 9, 16 12:31 pm  · 
 · 
Volunteer

One recent study I saw may be instructive. It compared civil engineers who went in-state to Texas A&M with graduates of the University of Pennsylvania. Over a lifetime on average the Penn graduates on average had a very, very small salary edge. But the kicker was to account for the tuition difference the Penn graduate would have to work for one hundred and fifty years before coming out even with the Texas A&M graduate.

Mar 9, 16 6:27 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect