Archinect
anchor

Pursuing a MA in Architecture abroad

Richard Mitchell

Hi there,

I'm a New Media student at Purchase in NY. I've been obsessed with architecture for a while now and have been focusing my efforts in designing structures with generative based designs with a interest in virtual spaces, scenography, sustainability, alternative development fabrication processes. I've still got some time left, less than 3 years. I'm really interested in pursuing architecture and have already taken classes in urban design (with more planned for the future) and going to be focusing heavily on CAD next semester although I do have some experience with the software and running programs I've designed with CNC Routers.

I love my program here and want to pursue a M.A. in Architecture or similar degree after my bachelors. Germany is definitely attractive to me, particularly the program for Media Architecture at Bauhaus Weimar, I've also been looking into Städelschule, Staatliche Akademie Der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart, ICD Stuttgart among others.

I wanted to see if it is un-common or practical for a New Media student to move into doing a  Masters in Architecture. I've talked to other Architecture students who are friends of mine from Norway and elsewhere and it seems like my program does have some crossovers. Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated!

- Richard C. Mitchell

Mar 7, 16 10:15 am
3tk