Archinect
anchor

Seeking Opinions From Architects on Graduate Planning Schools

Brittain

I know it's a testy topic, but I'm giving it a shot anyways. You all work in and around planning to some extent -- what are you impressions?

I graduated last May with a BA in Anthropology from UNC Asheville, as well as about 30k debt (mostly from earlier school) and I got into the planning programs at the following:

UGA -- Environmental Planning and Design
Idaho -- Bioregional Planning and Community Design
Cornell -- Regional Planning
UNC -- City and Regional Planning
Rutgers -- City and Regional Planning

Each of these has its own focus/unique pros/cons. For instance, Idaho's program is interdisciplinary rather than operating under the departments of public policy or architecture. UGA's includes studio design work, etc.

My broad-stroke career plan is to work in international planning around conservation, then a PhD at UGA's ICON program  (Integrative Conservation and Anthro/Ecology/Geography -- you get to pick), but eventually bring my experience back home to Western NC and do rural environmental planning locally.

I know I'm casting a wide net, but just was hoping for some feedback from you all, be it on planning in general, these schools in general, the programs in particular, etc. I posted a similar thing on Cyburbia's forums, but they're a bit less active, and I like variety of opinion.

Cheers!

Mar 3, 16 7:05 pm
Brittain

Mar 5, 16 4:03 pm  · 
 · 
TED

I would question how these schools would provide any incite to international planning around conservation.  Idaho?  International?  something is not correct in that equation.  For some of these schools to use the word 'City' in the title of their programmes is a bit of an oxymoron. City Planning in Georgia?