Archinect
anchor

Waterloo vs McGill

Mr.Splash

I am a grade 11 student living in Canada. Next year, I am planning to apply to all major Canadian universities and some British schools such as UCL Bartlett and AA.

I'm wondering, because a lot of people seem to think highly of Waterloo, is its undergrad better than McGill? I am aware that McGill is the university with the best academic standards and reputation in Canada but its architecture program doesn't seem to be as well known as that of schools like Waterloo and Ryerson.

I had an average of around 95% last semester and am expecting to do perhaps even better this semester. In other words, my average is slightly higher than McGill's minimum requirement but far exceeds that of Waterloo. Also, I would much rather live in Montreal than Cambridge so my mind is currently set on McGill. However, considering these factors, which would you say is the better option? 

Mar 1, 16 1:09 am
Non Sequitur

Yes Waterloo has a better undergrad, it's indisputable as the top undergrad architecture school in Canada, but McGill is a very strong second choice and you should not be disappointed with it as an alternative.

You're also right that Cambridge, Ontario is a hole and if you have the option, Montreal is a far less depressing place to live. 8-)

If you plan on working and chasing a license in Canada, don't bother with a foreign undergrad. Get the basics here and chase a fancy M.arch in 5 years once you know what you want.

Mar 1, 16 9:59 am  · 
 · 
Mr.Splash

Hey, thanks for replying. About the last part of your comment, what if I hope to live and practice in Europe?

Mar 2, 16 2:32 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

^ then attend a European school but it is important to know all the steps towards license early on so you know what to expect & work towards while in school. Too many students get out of school knowing nothing about the working world of architecture and then come to these boards to complain.