Archinect
anchor

Admission into Waterloo Architecture

lyricalmiracle

Hello all! I am a grade 11 student who has been wanting to go into Waterloo Architecture for quite a while. Since the beginning, my mind was more preoccupied with creating a strong portfolio and I figured my marks would remain as high as it always was. 

However, with a recent series of misfortune and terribly low marks, I am worried about making the first cut for admissions. With a current semester 1 average of 84% in grade 11 and a Grade 12 Advanced Functions mark of exactly 70% (I fast tracked my math), I am concerned about making it in. I barely meet the minimum mark for advanced functions. With an average of, let's say 85%, what do you think are my chances of making it to the portfolio interview stage?

And my question is, if I retake a course, how will my chance for making it to the interview stage be affected? And how far will my grade 11 course marks be looked into? 

Thank you and I would really appreciate all the help I could get :)

Feb 17, 16 11:19 pm

Why the pressure to get in to Waterloo right this instant? Take a gap year and travel. You'll have a chance to redo your math course if you're that worried about your marks.

Taking the time to react to your passions as opposed to reacting to pressure will give you much-needed perspective and may help you direct your focus within the field of design. 

Feb 18, 16 10:24 am  · 
 · 
MinimalCrazy

Why are you so stressed about waterloo architecture?