Archinect
anchor

AMA Graduate applications!

midfish

Hi All, 

I am a first year graduate student at Rice, and I also work for the school as a social media assistant. I went through the application process last year and got admitted to all the schools I applied (Cornell, Columbia, Sci-Arc, Pratt, Rice). I also did my undergraduate at MIT so I could give you an insight about the environment there. Let me know if you have any questions about the acceptance process/ how to talk about financial aid/ portfolio returns etc. An important decision is ahead for you all! 

I am happy to answer any questions regarding Rice School of Architecture, but if you have questions about other schools (interviews, open house etc) I will try my best to be helpful. 

Good luck to you all!

Feb 15, 16 1:49 pm
Scott Deisher

1.) Would you mind posting your portfolio? 

2.) Which of those schools conducted interviews?

3.) How do you like the small size of Rice? 

Feb 15, 16 3:52 pm  · 
 · 
midfish

Hi Skdeish, I actually don't have my portfolio posted anywhere. If you send me a personal message, I can share my old coroflot page and some of my classmates' portfolios with you.

Pratt had a written exchange with me and there was a brief interview for Cornell. 

I actually really like the size of Rice. It is great to get to know everyone on a personal level, and people get to know you. Your design language is definitely more recognized by others due to the small size of the school. You are always encouraged to discuss your work with others and others will discuss their work with you. It is a great environment to experiment and grow as a designer. Because the size is very small (my program this year is only 7 people!) you get to know your classmates pretty well - therefore people are more understanding in the studio  during stressful times like finals/ reviews etc. Also the professors and Dean Whiting are accessible to you. Studio doors and office doors are always open in Anderson Hall.