Archinect
anchor

M.ARCH 1 Portfolio Critique Requested

RazanALT

Hi everyone,

Long time lurker, first time poster here. I wanted to post my portfolio for feedback from all you fine folks. 

http://issuu.com/razanalt/docs/gatechportfolio

My background is in IT so I attended Career Discovery this past summer. I then enrolled in an Interior Design and a Furniture Design / Woodworking course for additional portfolio material. 

Also I'm interested in tech-oriented programs but all of my work is hand drawn or hand constructed. I'm hoping this isn't too much a negative but I didn't want to half-ass some Sketch-up renderings. Thoughts?

For context I am applying to GA Tech, VA Tech, MIT, Yale, University of Michigan and Princeton.

Thanks in advance!!

Razan

Dec 19, 15 12:59 am
TXY48

Horrible layouts...

And improve your drawing skill...........like for real.......if you can't draw at least use a ruler...

Good luck

Dec 19, 15 2:20 am  · 
 · 
Zaina

^ you know they need something to laugh at!

girl, i'n not here to frustrate you, but your portfolio needs lots of work... for someone with an IT background, you have a good first attempt in my opinion... 

Dec 19, 15 7:06 am  · 
 · 
no_form
Look at other m.arch portfolios on issuu. You need to revise your layouts. No borders and color blocks. Keep your typography a simple sans serif and make sure it doesn't look like a dot matrix printer typeface. Keep words spaced the same. Do not stretch them.

Google basic graphic design.

There's more to say, especially about the content itself. But establish a grid logic for your layout and select some clean simple sans serif typeface.
Dec 19, 15 11:31 am  · 
 · 
RazanALT

OK, thanks @no_form . Back to the drawing board, literally. I have zero art background (clearly). 

Could you comment on content? I really struggled to find material for my portfolio as described in my original post.

Dec 19, 15 12:09 pm  · 
 · 
ShakeyDeal