Archinect
anchor

Extra-curriculars vs Marks

Mr.Splash

Hello, I am a grade 11 student from Canada planning to apply for Architecture programs at University College London, McGill, and Waterloo. Currently, I have an average of around 95, which I will likely maintain for the full year. Also, I was the captain of the basketball team last year and am nearly guaranteed to be again next year. With no participation in other extra curicular activities, I am uncertain on whether I should risk my average by continuing to play the next two years so that I can include it in my University application or solely direct my focus to academics. 

I know for fact that basketball will hinder my goal of ending with a high 90 this year.

My question is, would architecture programs favor a student who is an academic standout or a student who excelled both academically and athletically?

Nov 12, 15 7:28 pm
ivorykeyboard

athletics? lol

brush up on that portfolio. universities don't care about sports unless you're lebron james. in which case, you definitely won't have time for studio. that being said, Andrew Luck majored in architecture at Stanford. 

Nov 12, 15 10:49 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Universities typically want someone who has excelled academically while showing leadership in other areas, which can include sports.

That said, you should probably join a volunteer organization and try to attain a leadership position in it. Think Habitat for Humanity, Doctors without borders, Students for Sensible Drug Policy, or the like. This will rate much higher than playing basketball.