Archinect
anchor

Would you require a Architect to have a minor degree

castiblanco90

My name is Christian, I'm  a student pursuing my Architecture Bachelor degree . Many of my peers have recommended  me of taking engineering classes and possibly as my minor.

Or any other degree such as business, or sociology etc...

Should I have a minor degree?

What minor degree should I pursue?

Would it benefit me?

Aug 4, 15 5:37 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 11 Comments

thearchitectsguide

Hi Christian,

Pursuing a minor degree should be looked at as a means of personal growth and development. That being said, in the eyes of most architecture firm hiring managers a minor degree is not overly beneficial for an applicant.  I would recommend focusing on your Architecture major to build a portfolio of strong projects and thorough coursework.

Good luck!

Brandon

thearchitectsguide.com

Aug 4, 15 5:46 pm  · 
 · 
Good_Knight

If you are intelligent and motivated to get an edumacation (enough to be wondering what you ought to minor in), I'd recommend majoring in engineering.

Drop the architecture.  Don't even minor in it.

In my experience, unless you are attending a school with brand name recognition, the only thing that is important to an arch firm employer is to have a positive attitude in spite of being paid crap money for a slave's effort along with a decent capacity for endless CAD/ BIM monkeying.  In fact, don't act too educated or intelligent or particularly motivated, it will specifically get you unhired.

Best you can hope for in architecture is fly below the radar in school and until you are licensed by acting stoopid.  Once you are licensed, though, there are opportunities that open up.  Its averaging about 7-10 years brute effort of going along with stoopid to get along post graduation to get licensed though.