Archinect
anchor

A truly difficult predicament...Transfer into architecture or stay with business

SeanB

I am a first year student at a public university. Recently I have decided that going to school for business was not for me and I wanted to switch my major. I have always been very creative and was encouraged to apply as a transfer student to an architecture program. After creating a portfolio, I was accepted into an accredited b.arch program, and I was thrilled. However, I am now faced with a decision between my two schools and I am starting to doubt both. Has anyone been in a similar situation , or can offer advice/perspective? Thanks

Apr 28, 15 1:32 am
mfvoll

This isn't mine, but I came across it once and I think it applies:

http://imgur.com/a/354vK?gallery

Hope it helps.

Apr 28, 15 2:20 pm  · 
 · 
martrench

I went through a similar thing. My undergraduate school had no B.Arch program. I am graduating with a degree in finance, never really know why I chose business, it just seemed sort of available and useful. But the past three years studying it have been close to miserable. I just have no passion for it. However, I did apply and get accepted into some M.Arch programs. I will be starting one shortly. From my perspective-- I think I walk away with some useful experience having studied finance and know all sorts of accounting and business skills I otherwise would not have gained. I have made some good connections within business school and feel as though a finance degree is marketable in all sorts of fields. However, I rarely enjoyed my classes. Getting through some was a trial. I feel as though I had to work harder than most of my friends because my heart was not in it. I yearned for something creative, but all the while am happy I stuck it out.

It's really a personal call. In the end, I think it's best to do something you feel you will enjoy.

May 1, 15 9:37 am  · 
 · 
l3wis