Archinect
anchor

M Arch Decisions: Kansas State v Buffalo v UNCC v UCLA v Wentworth

sbdn910

So just a little bit of a background:

I graduated in 2014 with a dual degree in architectural history and economics and then went abroad to intern for a residential architecture firm in Israel. Over this past year I applied to M. Arch programs and after hearing back, I am having hard time deciding which school to attend

Accepted: UNC Charlotte, Kansas State University, Buffalo (Scholarship Money Awarded), Wentworth Institute of Technology, UCLA

Rejected: UT Austin

Wait Listed: City College of New York

ANY ADVICE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Mar 23, 15 11:07 am
Non Sequitur

take the cheapest.

Mar 23, 15 11:09 am  · 
 · 
Sorrowful Giuseppe

I went to Buffalo for my Masters of Urban Planning and also took some architecture class in 2012, but I never gradated, I dropped it out after a year and went for traveling.

I'll simply say that it is a good school for undergraduate education, but not as good for Maters as it for BArch program, although there are a few very good professors. I really have a high respect for those guys.

There are a few so called "specialization" you are supposed to focus on at you studio.

My favorite was Material Culture - basically you have to work on buildings tectonics, materials and at the end you have to build a full scale building / structure. I found it very interesting an in term of design and intellectual challenge. Here you would meet the most of the best professors in the school.

The rest ones are more related to social architecture, technology and things like that.

It is a poor state school and they can't afford much facilities that are important for grad students, but I noway mean it is a bad school, in fact it is a really good planning school and BArch school.