Archinect
anchor

Master of architecture / Set Design

assma

Hello everyone

I am an architecture student almost graduating from school. I will obtain an equivalent of a B.Arch.

I am very intersted in Theatre/ Cinema/ Television so i was wondering if there is a Masters degree in the United States where i can use my architectural background to study Set design/Production design and in which schools

Thank you for your help

Jan 27, 15 9:36 pm
jp88
You might want to look into the schools in Southern California, where the film industry is essentially headquartered. I would look at schools like University of Southern California, UCLA, Woodbury. You might even have the best luck in looking at film schools and finding out which film schools curriculum have a track based on production design and set design. So you might not get a masters of architecture, but rather a masters in film.
Jan 27, 15 10:05 pm  · 
 · 
assma

Thank you for your annswer, I looked into those schools before and I think that in order to get a masters degree in film i have to have a bachelor in film which isn't my case, but i will look more into it maybe I missed something

Jan 29, 15 1:51 pm  · 
 · 
mbr655

I am an undergrad set designer in the University of Texas at Austin Theatre Department (just applied for my M.Arch I). The graduate designers I work with are amazing! You'll end up with an MFA in Scenic Design.

Good Luck!

Feb 17, 15 5:30 pm  · 
 · 
ashigupta

I am an architecture student, further study want to be in set designing. In which subjects i need to do masters?
?

Mar 6, 20 6:50 am  · 
 · 
assma

Ohh great, I've always considered UT Austin, it's been on my top 5 list of schools :DD

good luck with your M.Arch application, hope you get in 

Feb 18, 15 7:41 am  · 
 · 
Carrera

Carnegie Mellon University

Emerson College

Tisch School of the Arts

Cal Arts

UCLA

University of Cincinnati

Yale

DePaul

University of North Carolina School of the Arts

U of M

Penn State

Illinois State