Archinect
anchor

Buying a laptop for archt. student

I'm a student. I need to buy a new laptop regardless not just for my architecture classes so I am asking this because there's professionals out there who may have specific suggestions I could really benefit from on a student budget.

I have about $1,300 I can spend.

My architecture professor will be using a PC to teach autoCAD 2015

Some concerns I have is if I went Mac-- I am being told by fellow students Mac might not even support 2015 yet?

Also Mac will be harder because he is using PC to teach and some interface may be different he said already if you get a Mac buy the program to run a PC on your Mac? This confused me

QUESTION: If you had this 1,300 what kind of computer would you buy to get the absolute best bang for your buck? Thanks all :)

Aug 27, 14 4:59 pm
Mr_Wiggin

Windows PC, Intel i7 49xx or Xeon 12xx-V3, minimum of 8GB RAM, SSD or Hybrid Hard Drive, minimum 2GB discreet video card...

That video card might jack your price up a lot, most laptops have integrated graphics on the CPU, and I guess that's ok for most people.  With a laptop focus on the CPU, i7 or nothing really, then RAM clocked no lower than 1600 mhz.  I like Macs, but they're nothing more than a fashion statement in the classroom, somewhat buggy with autodesk programs, and by no means the definition of bang for your buck.  Have you posed the question on the tomshardware.com forums?  I got a lot of help when I built my PC there, and I know there are several threads dedicated to laptop CAD machines.  $1300 is kind of on the low end from what I remember, but you should be able to find a deal.  Just an example on Newegg.com - HERE <---click

Aug 27, 14 5:20 pm  · 
 · 
bugsmetoo

Macs run AutoCAD fine. Years don't matter because it is fundamentally the same program. That's about it though besides Maya. You'll need to boot into Windows for everything else used these days (e.g. Rhino, Revit, 3ds Max, etc).