Archinect
anchor

Right Now- My only real live job option- I need some input from anyone that wants to offer it

landplnr2001

I am a senior landscape architect level professional/also urban designer/also certified planner and LEED thrown in for good measure. I, like many of us, have experienced massive, hyper-extended unemployment in both the planning and design professions. The signs of improvement in our job market are just not there and will not be for sometime.

I have been offered a 4 month trial test drive with a firm with four offices in SE Asia. They want me to

be stationed in Shanghai. I have a little less than two months to get there. I am mostly free and unencumbered. I have set some things in motion by starting the passport. I have a lot of trepidation about this move, but I really doubht anything on the mainland will come along in time. I have applied for so many positions (public and private) in so many different slants and twists of our related professions, that I have lost count.

I would welcome all opinion, input and critique from any one willing to offer it. All I ask is to please avoid the simplistic such as "It is a job, right ?". I am looking for more frank, candid and helpful viewpoints than that.

Thank you.

Mar 16, 11 5:18 pm
le bossman

do you have a family or some other conflicting reason why you can't take it? if you don't, you'll kick yourself when its gone. trust me.

Mar 16, 11 6:04 pm  · 
 · 

ditto what the bossman says. chance to travel and live in new culture and get a job sounds fantastic opportunity to me.

Mar 16, 11 6:12 pm  · 
 · 

I moved to Shanghai last may. It's really not all that complicated to get settled in here. The visa stuff is all fairly simple, despite reports to the contrary. The city is fascinating in terms of architecture and especially urban design.

Quality of life here is about the same if not better than cities I've lived in in the US and Europe, so I really wouldn't worry about culture shock.