Archinect
anchor

Pedogogy -

ext architect

Dear fellow Architects around the world,

It's time of the year when there's a whole lot of discussions about Schools, Masters, Applications and rejoicing admittance and dreadful rejections.

I am one of the many people who applied and faced approval and rejections. I applied to this School which I really really wanted to get in and for some reason I had a feelings, I would get in to it.

But the issue is this - I have a 5 year Undergraduate degree in Architecture and I deliberately applied to the 3 year Master's Program. I got a rejection from this university which would not review applications for Professional M Arch because I have a 5 year degree which seem unfair to the ones who have a 3 or a 4 year degree. (No offense meant to non- architectural or 3-4 year degree in Architecture)

I have a counter point and a valid reason for applying to Professional M Arch . With no disrespect I am acknowledging the fact that the pedagogy of architectural education in India (where I am from) is old school. An architectural discourse of 5 years or 3 years by no means is technologically advanced, intrinsically design oriented with flexibility in material study or fabrication or any parameter associated. It seems unfair to me to be reviewed as an applicant for Post Professional Architecture and get rejected because of the wide-est gap in the architectural education system. I am not complaining yet I cannot come to terms with it.

In another instance, I got a rejection from a School from whom I inquired if my application/portfolio seem inadequate for Advanced Placement, will I be considered for M Arch I. I got an affirmation while applying and a rejection at the end of it.

An opportunity lost is a year lost.

Mar 14, 11 2:30 pm
ext architect

I don't mean to sound sporadic but I can't think right at this moment.

Mar 14, 11 2:30 pm  · 
 · 
AmeliaP