Archinect
anchor

Going back to school for architecture?

JayGatsbyXCV

I graduated from college last year with a BA in History. Since then I've been working in journalism, but want to change my career to Architecture. It was going to major in that field, but my college didn't have it. I was thinking about starting off a a junior college first then transfer to a university that has an architect program. Is this a good idea?

Jul 19, 14 6:17 pm
accesskb

We can't tell you to take architecture or not.  It all depends on how passionate you are and whether you're willing to stick with it for the long haul regardless what it throws at you.  If not, you're probably just wasting your time.  Still, I doubt I'd have listened to anyone telling me not to study architecture 9 years ago when I was really passionate about this field.

here are just some titles of threads in here to give you an idea... I'm sure architecture  will open more doors for you than a BA in History though :)

Lost passion,

Returning to Architecture after 10 years,

Architect's existential crisis.

What do architects do during down turns?,

Architects are facing a silent war,

Why won't employers hire interns without a lot of experience,

Joining workforce in high-unemployment year a drag on lifetime earnings,

Is architecture a bad choice in US and Europe ?!?,

Jul 19, 14 6:57 pm  · 
 · 
ecnal

Journalism and History would be great backgrounds for a good architect IMO.

Apr 12, 18 1:47 am  · 
 · 
HockeyGoalie

I've known several great architects in my years of building.  They were passionate, knowledgeable, consultative, and imaginative.  While they've not designed anything you may know of, or even heard of, they've amazed me with new ways of looking at design.  They've solved problems I couldn't think my way out of, largely because I'm a builder.  Full disclosure, I don't even pretend to be an architect but work with them frequently.