Archinect
anchor

M.Arch Programs

jamie402

I'm currently in my last year of my undergrad for Interior Design with plans of going onto receive a M.Arch. I'm very interested in going to a reasonably acclaimed university. Initially, I was looking at KU, Iowa State, Nebraska, and Texas, but recently I've been exploring the possibility of excellent programs like GSD, GSAPP, and Cornell. It would be a dream of mine to have the opportunity to go to a school as prestigious as Harvard and Columbia but I'm curious how difficult it is to get accepted considering these are some of the hardest undergraduate schools to get into. How important is GPA, GRE score, involvement, and work experience in comparison to the portfolio submission? Does one have a better chance of getting in if they have a few years or work experience rather than one is who fresh out of undergrad? My Interiors program is very architecturally-based so I do have a decently competitive portfolio that showcases architectural talent/knowledge.

My GPA is 3.5 and I have studied abroad once and plan to study abroad my last semester of undergrad. My resumé is strong with various organization involvement and volunteer work and I'm interning with a large, international architectural firm. I give you this information to inquire how competitive I am against the other prospective students.

How valuable is a degree of that caliber to employers? Is the $45,000/yr tuition (approx.) worth that much more than a degree from other good programs like KU or Texas? Have any of you had good experiences at any of these universities? Should I consider any other schools? I'm more interested in a school that focuses on conceptual ideas and theories rather than one that is art based or engineering/technical. 

Thank you in advance for your information!

Jul 12, 14 4:15 pm
natematt