Archinect
anchor

Internship at Studio Fuksas

mjfw

I've been offered a 6 month internship at Studio Fuksas in Rome (unpaid) and was curious to know if anyone can provide me with some information on what it's like working there. I am still an undergraduate student and have heard some stories from previous threads on working for Fuksas, but those were all from a few years ago...

If you would prefer, you can email me...

mjfwinte @ uwaterloo.ca (without the spaces of course)

Thanks.

Nov 17, 10 12:13 pm
dfowler

I can't really help, as I've never worked there, but I did visit the studio while I was in Rome. The feeling I got is that the interns work pretty hard, but they all seemed to enjoy it. It was a good atmosphere, everyone jamming on work and having fun. If I had my choice I would definitely try to work on some physical models.
I'm still not a fan of unpaid internships, but I guess if you're going to do it this could be a cool place.

Nov 17, 10 10:48 pm  · 
 · 
nypencil

Fuksas is a great architect. From their work, it looks they are a forward thinking architect. Maybe sharpen your 3d skill? Just a guess.

Nice work. Good luck.

Nov 18, 10 1:49 am  · 
 · 
jplourde

I've heard/seen Massimiliano a few times at lectures, but never Doriana. Though, they are always given dual credit on any project [that I've seen]. I would be curious as to how their creative process works and how they play out design.

I mean the Pritzker was given to Bob and not Denise, even though they collabed on everything. Pete is much more well known than Crystie. The profession has a tendency towards the masculine, I think. But perhaps that is changing.

As to the internship: Take it. A 6 month unpaid stint in Roma is well worth quite more than what you might be paid in ny or boston or chicago. I was there for one semester plus 2 months in 2006 and it was a lovely experience. A pui tarde, mia amico/ca! A boun danza!

Nov 19, 10 5:34 pm  · 
 · 
bollocks