Archinect
anchor

Landscape Architecture vs Architecture

ben34

I studied architecture for a few months before dropping out (many reasons) and have spent a few years working in entry level jobs. I have been thinking of returning to school to study landscape architecture instead. I used to work at a botanic garden and it made me more interested in the outdoors.

Do landscape architects tend to work better hours than architects? In Australia the undergraduate degree is only 4 years and no masters is required. Is the schooling just as intensive? Do they have a better work/life balance or is it about the same?

Jul 27, 10 9:55 pm

Hi Ben,

LA hours are the same as architects - it all depends on the type of office you choose to work in & how busy they are.

Landscape schooling is is just as intensive (in the US). Instead of memorizing 20-gazillion gothic cathedrals that all look alike, you have to learn your plants (and many of them look alike).

Work-life balance is about the same. But most LA folks I know manage to spend more time outdoors (since that is why they became 'scapers). You'll also find more dog owners among 'scapers.

LA is a smaller profession (which has is pluses and minuses) then architecture. I'll try to answer other questions you may have. There are also several other threads on archinect that explore this topic.

Good luck.

Jul 28, 10 9:28 am  · 
 · 
Larchinect

I think the reasons you allude to for leaving architecture are poor reasons to pursue a career in landscape architecture from my very humble and limited experience.

LA's work long hours behind comuter screens just like archs. I don't get to go outside much, nor do I get to play with plants or dig in the dirt.

Working in Landscape Architecture has also made me more interested in the outdoors, but only because I'm chained to this desk 5 days/week.

Jul 28, 10 12:00 pm  · 
 · 
ben34