Archinect
anchor

Post-professional/Research degrees

rnb

Can anyone give any advice on the best Post-Professional degrees, specifically those geared towards solid architectural research and a thesis. I already have an MArch (first professional... undergrad was not in architecture), but without a thesis project. I am now looking to complete a solid piece of research that will allow me to pursue teaching.

MDesS at Harvard
SMArchS at MIT
MSc at U Mich
MArch II at the Cooper Union
MSc at Pratt
MSAS at UT-Austin
MSc at Berkeley

Are there others I should be looking into? Does anyone know of these programs, or attended these schools and interacted with students in these programs? I am NOT interested in a studio-intense program again... 3.5 years of that was plenty for me! However, I am a designer first and foremost and would like to complete at least some design work to go along with my research.

Jul 26, 10 10:34 am
iheartbooks

You seem to have found most of the heavy hitters in the US. My search for a good post-professional program has been centered around my extreme wanderlust and my interest in european history.

I'm really pumped on these right now, but am waiting a few years to apply for $$ reasons.

M.Sc. Urban Studies @ University College London
MPhil in Planning, Growth and Regeneration @ University of Cambridge
MS.c Architecture, Future Cities @ T.U. Delft

You may want to read some of the books used in the courses to see if the research focus is in line with what your interested in.

Do you have any idea of what research you want to be involved with? Knowing this will help narrow down your choices.

Jul 26, 10 11:26 am  · 
 ·