Archinect
anchor

How should I incorporate this into my resume?

mardix

I graduated from an MArch program last spring and have not worked in a firm since 2008. Since june of last year I have been a store manager at a clothing store to pay the bills. I am concerned that firms that I submit my resume too are just going to see my recent store manager experience and over looks my 2+ years of architectural experience.

My question is should bump my past architectural jobs to the top or keep my resume in chronological order with my store managerial position on the top. I am curious to hear from people who actually look at resumes for their firms to see how they view "out of profession" experience on resumes.

Jul 22, 10 4:51 pm
Rusty!

Do you have any hobbies or interests that you do outside of your paying job that are related to architecture? Even a blog in which you re-post pictures of projects you like...

Have you tried entering any competitions just by-yourself or a friend(s)? Have you taken any computer courses since graduating? Have you thought yourself new software packages? Have you built any furniture or items around the house that are cool/interesting? Photography? Graphic design?

If so, I would list all relevant activities you have participated on in the same breath as mentioning your current employment situation.

Coming across as very eager to rejoin the profession should be your priority. Being out of the profession for extended period of time is, sadly, more of a rule than exception these days...

Landing a job these days is a crapsshoot (only a fixed game of craps where the house never loses).

I'm also curious what others may have to add.....

Jul 22, 10 6:42 pm  · 
 · 
cajunarch