Archinect
anchor

NJIT vs Morgan State University

J_AFlores

im in a particular situation. I got an Associates degree from a community college in MD. i applied to NJIT for its B.arch program and also to Morgan State University. NJIT will be more expensive yet i wanted to go here cause i can get th B.arch and go work, yet they wnt take more 25 credits from my Associates, on the other hand, Morgan will take 56 credits and will be cheaper, yet after getting a bachelor of science in arch and environmental design i will have to go for Grad school and also their arch program is new its only been there for 10 yrs or so. so I would like to know what you guys think. which one will be the best option?!?! Thanks!

May 25, 10 12:27 am
DisplacedArchitect

go for the least expensive option, College does not make or break you man,

after college you learn so much more on your own.

get the 5 year degree and get licensed your future family will thank you for doing the most economical thing.

May 25, 10 2:05 am  · 
 · 
arri

Sivarch,

When you graduate and start applying for jobs no one is going to distinguish the difference between a degree from Morgan State vs. NJIT.

When you graduate and start applying for jobs no one is going to recognize the difference between a Bachelor of Architecture degree vs. a Bachelor of Science in Architecture.

my option is to study at Morgan State and pay instate tuition @ $6,600 per year. Since Morgan State will take 56 credits You can earn a Bachelor of Science in Architecture in only 2 years. In the end it will cost you $13,200 if you can live at home.

NJIT will cost you $11,300 out of state per semester with room and board add another $3,500 for a total of almost $15,000 per semester. That's almost $30,000 for the first year alone.

Maybe you can get in state tuition after the first year @ $10,800 per year plus room and board @ $7,000 for a total of $17,800