Archinect
anchor

Thesis Topic Help!

dc91

Hi everyone,

So I am in my fifth year of Architecture School and I need to choose a topic for my Masters Project. So far I have been thinking about doing this:

Through the introduction of psychology, how can we respond to the user needs more effectively to design an experience that caters to human behavior and redefines the role of the architect and architecture?

However, I am unsure as to what kind of design proposal I should apply my research on or in which direction to take this to and further distill it. Help please!!

Mar 23, 14 11:42 pm

hey hi , i don't think i'll be of much help since i'm still in my 2nd year but i was really impressed with the idea of hobbit house . so i was thinking would a hobbit house community or something like that be really simple for a thesis project ?

May 9, 14 2:51 pm  · 
 · 
lukeggg

Your thesis is a little bit long winded but as I read it you are asking how we can design for the user rather than for aesthetics. I would look at Bjarke Ingles and see how his very similar design philosophy (as seen in this http://www.archdaily.com/477737/ad-interviews-bjarke-ingels-big/ interview, as well as almost all of his others) achieves this. Instead of focusing on how a design experience can cater to human behavior, look at people who have already done it.

May 9, 14 4:16 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

Instead of trying to figure out how to apply your proposal, let your research lead you there... 

I actually don't understand your thesis... what the heck do you mean by the introduction of psychology? Is this a thesis in psychology or architecture? 

The better phrased question is: "what is the role of the architect and how can the architect better respond to users' needs of today's times?" When phrased like this, the question is clearer but still WAY too vague and broad...