Archinect
anchor

How do you choose a design parti? Share experiences

chikipiki

How do you come to a design parti, a leading idea for design? Can you give examples of your successful parti(s)?

I am a 3d year architecture student and I always have a problem with this one. As I begin to analyse it, my problem is as follows:

1) Usually I start choosing a parti from some idealistic thought about one space that I want to make in the given building. Or, rather, the interior of that space. For example, last semester we had to design a multi-functional recreation center with a hall for sports/yoga/conference etc., in a rural setting. My first idea was: I want to make this sports hall a modernistic glazed box, supported by columns, with a terrace overlooking the nearby river.
Then I struggle over this idea and then I fail, because I try to build a building complex around this box of a hall, but it doesn't all fit together. Then, approach 2:

2) I choose that I want to make the whole building a steps-like succession of 3 different volumes with 3 different heights, interrupted by cuttings for loggias. That works!

But my problem remains: when I choose something that I really want to idealistically achieve for a parti, some kind of space, then I fail. When I choose something abstract for a parti: "let the building be a 3-step succession", "let it look like the piano keys", "let it look like a turned-around letter A", then I succeed, then it looks well design-wise. But I have trouble to acknowledge that as a success, because - what did I really try to achieve? What's inherently good about a building as letter A? That abstract parti, why did I choose it and not other and what is the value of it, isn't it kind of random?

What do you think, did you encounter the same problems and how do you deal with them?
Or maybe, if all that seemed too long-winded, can you just give an example of a successful parti of yours?

Oct 29, 09 5:13 am
randomized