Archinect
anchor

Starting my Journey to an M.Arch I

drewdoom

Okay long story short: I was really interested in architecture, but my dad, a landscape architect, was very discouraging about the job market. So I tried a few other majors but have come to realize I really want to do architecture. I have been in school 4 years now and switched schools this year so I think the M.Arch I is my best option. I will be graduating in May 2015 from Arizona State with a BIS (Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies) with concentrations in Architecture Studies and Political Science. I will have a 3.6ish GPA between all my schools.

I'm slightly concerned about how I will be able to get into a decent M.Arch I program because I am new to ASU and have no idea who I will get letters of rec from. I have a little time, so I will work on that. But my portfolio also troubles me. I have done photography for a long time and have some pretty solid work I can include. I also am a decent drawer and have some good graffiti art and still life kinds of stuff. But other than that, I have no idea what else I can come up with. Should I be trying to work on some sculptures or other stuff in my free time now to put into a portfolio? I also haven't taken the GRE yet, but I am not too worried because I'm usually pretty good at tests like that so I'll study up and do my best.

I am trying to sort out which schools I want to apply to and how many of them I should apply to. My dream school is the University of Oregon. My dad went there and I have visited it many times, seeing the studios and everything. I just love the feel of the campus, the location, everything about it really. I am looking for a school that focuses in sustainable structures and practical experience. I am not planning on working for a starchitect or anything, but rather a smaller, more local residential kind of gig. So yeah.