Archinect
anchor

Developing Portfolio for Admission to University of Waterloo for Architecture

ParadoxMind

Hello,

I am a student in Grade 11 high school, and I've been working for a long time at trying to bring together a portfolio to gain acceptance into the architecture program at the University of Waterloo. I am an arts student that does photography, painting, singing, dance and performance, I was wondering what types of things I should include in a portfolio that they would want to see there. My marks are in the low 90's (Around a 92.5%). I was wondering if anyone had any input into what types of media I should put into a portfolio for the best results, preferably someone who has completed their first year or more advanced in the program.

Thanks in advance for the help!

ParadoxMind

Sep 4, 13 4:45 pm
qtthai

Hey ParadoxMind,

I actually just graduated from Waterloo, and have also done a couple of admissions interviews for incoming first years.  In my opinion, the ones the applicants that stood out the most were those that showed a plethora of their individual creative abilities.  There were students who brought in large paintings, sculptures, some played guitar, wrote songs, a harp even.  The goal is to show the panel how you think creatively, through any medium that you feel comfortable with.  Sketchbooks are usually a big asset as well, as it shows process work etc.  Hope that helps!

Sep 8, 13 2:46 am  · 
 · 
accesskb

if sketchbooks were a requirement for admission portfolios, most would be denied admission xD  so if you're good at sketching, definitely bring your sketchbook along

Sep 8, 13 8:35 pm  · 
 · 
WATERLOOARCHITECTURE

Hi guys ,