Archinect
anchor

Architectural Association AA- Which path should I take?

vinsanimo

I want to apply to the AA in the future. I am a student in the arts program at Dalhousie University taking arch classes, and I am planning on applying to the BEDS program. I am also thinking of applying to AA's Undergrad school, but since I am in my 2nd year of uni in September, I'm wondering if I should apply for foundations, or first year etc. I am just really confused as to how they do things at AA.

Many websites have AA ranked as one of the best arch schools in the world. In my brain that means its reputable, and can open doors for jobs all over the world (please correct me if i'm wrong), So my end goal is to go to a internationally recognized school so I have the freedom in choosing where to work.

I also emailed them about their masters degree, and they said their program "does not lead to a qualification as an architect" can someone shed some light on that?

Jul 12, 13 2:10 pm
Architect with a suitcase

If you want to become an architect in the UK you have to go through the RIBA system.

http://www.architecture.com/EducationAndCareers/BecomingAnArchitect/Becominganarchitect.aspx#.UgO4VxxiB24

Canada has lots of great schools of architecture. You need to check the reciprocity between the Canadian Registration Board and the RIBA /ARB if you want to return to Canada and call yourself an architect.

But why the AA?  It is not considered the best school of architecture in the UK by the AJ magazine or the Guardian Newspaper. 

Top ten UK architecture schools

Bartlett, University College London
Welsh School of Architecture, Cardiff
University of Bath
University of Cambridge
Newcastle University
Kent School of Architecture
Oxford Brookes
Manchester School of Architecture
Sheffield School of Architecture
Edinburgh School of Architecture

Aug 8, 13 11:35 am  · 
TED