Archinect
anchor

Architectural Outsourcing

actmat

To The Profession,

I am a fairly recent graduate from an Undergrad program and currently have found a fantastic job as a designer (no joke) with a smaller firm (8-10) people.  I love my job and know I am beyond fortunate to have it, but I still am constantly asking myself "What happens next?"  There are a lot of things being said in the profession and I'm not sure what to listen to.  I am currently completely IDP hours and going through a certain state's apprenticeship path to getting listened but it is not in the geographic location that my fiance and I would like to settle down.  This has left me asking questions about what do I do?  Do I leave this state and effectively force myself to go back to school and put up thousands of more dollars to get an MArch in the hopes of getting another job and ultimately opening my own firm someday?  Or do I find another way to be a part of the profession I love without the upfront financial risk that the current system dictates?

It is from these thoughts that I find myself with numerous questions, one of which is the reason for my posting and need for advice.  What is the profession's overall outlook, need, demand for the outsourcing of certain work?  We all know that numerous firms outsource tasks such as renderings, whether it be due to time, workload or otherwise but what about several other tasks?

I guess, really the question I am asking is what are people's thoughts on the idea of starting an Architectural Service business that provides multiple services to supplement the work and designs of many firms that do not have the time or manpower to do these things themselves?

Sincerely,

An Aspiring Architect In Need of Guidance

Aug 5, 12 11:52 am
Ramon Luc