Archinect
anchor

Second Attempt at University of Waterloo

saltymoob

Last year I applied to, and was denied from The University of Waterloo Architecture Program. I was fine when it came to marks, however my art portfolio/ video interveiw didnt go as smoothly. I'm currently studying Engineering at the U of A, I know it says that an 80% average is needed for admissions but does that equate to a 3.2 GPA or will it be considered on a case-by-case basis? Also I plan to fly down for the interveiw this year and plan to build upon my portfolio. Last time it contained sculpture, photography, sketches,  and similar things, but I was advised by a friend to leave out CAD renderings. This year I focused more on painting and photography and i need to know where else to focus my efforts, are the CAD renderings applicable, and what else do I need to ensure entry this year?

Oct 13, 11 9:53 pm
archifan1987

It wont look very good in your application that you only have a 3.2 GPA. An 80% is equivalent to a 3.5. Dont include CAD renderings. They want to see your creative potential so stick with the painting and the photography. There are many architecture schools out there. Try applying to more than just one.

Oct 14, 11 11:47 am  · 
 · 
m...

I was admitted there in 2010 but not 2011. Chose not to go because I wanted to leave Canada. From what I can tell, they valued my design work much more than my academics. My marks in high school were okay, but I definitely did not have an 80 average. To be fair, though, I was placed on the wait list both years. 

The school I'm going to in the fall has an exchange program with Waterloo and the ROME program is actually offered. So if all goes well, I'll be exchanging from an Australian Uni to a Canadian Uni to attend a 3rd year Uni course in my 2nd year located in Italy when I am from Canada originally (holy shit, what).