Archinect
anchor

Credential options with expired license

Toast

Can you use any kind of post-nominal credentials if you pass all the exams, become a licensed architect in the US, and then let your license expire? 

I don't want to present myself as a licensed architect, but I now work in a related industry and would like to convey my professional experience. Just using "M.Arch" in my signature line or business card only says I have a degree and doesn't convey that I have experience and jumped thru all the hoops to get licensed. Can you say something like "RA (expired)," "NCARB (expired)," "Former architect," "Previously licensed architect," "Retired architect,"  "Professional Formerly Known as a Licensed Architect..." All the state boards say is you can't mis-represent yourself as a licensed architect, but that's not what I'm trying to do...

Oct 18, 23 6:24 pm
Non Sequitur

licensed architect is redundant. You are either an architect or you are not. You gotta play/pay the game to use the title.  

Oct 18, 23 6:27 pm  · 
1  · 

Maybe you could call yourself a retired architect.  I'd speak to AIA and the states likening boards where you're working ang get their input.  

I would stay away from using 'former architect' or any type of 'expired'

Former / expired architect - why former?  Did you mess up and loose your license?  Why didn't you keep up your license?  If you haven't kept up with the profession how can you be relevant?  

See the types of questions that brings up.  

Good luck.  

Oct 18, 23 6:30 pm  · 
2  · 
luvu