Archinect
anchor

QC / Coordination During Design

AuburnWE

Hi Everyone,

I come from a commercial construction background where I worked in the field.  After completing a few projects and having the same issues come up over and over again, I started performing my own construction coordination review of the construction documents.  It is surprising how often things like access control for door hardware are not coordinated when the documents are handed over to the contractor often resulting in change orders. 

Does anyone use a third-party to review construction documents in an effort to catch as many coordination issues as possible?  If so, what criteria do you use to pick a third-party reviewer?  I feel like this is an undervalued part of the process that is often overlooked.

Thanks!

T

Aug 21, 23 12:27 pm
Non Sequitur

No, we do our own quality control and doc reviews in house.  Perhaps you just need to work with more diligent offices.

Aug 21, 23 12:40 pm  · 
1  · 
AuburnWE

That would be ideal. Unfortunately, these issues have been consistent across the majority of design teams and projects I've worked on across the southern/southeast US. Good to hear that it isn't an industry norm.

Aug 21, 23 2:15 pm  · 
1  · 
reallynotmyname

I've worked in numerous southern US offices where coordination and detailing at the drawing stage were shut down by management in favor of "working it out with submittals" or "working it out in the field".

Aug 21, 23 6:04 pm  · 
3  · 
graphemic

I've seen it too, terrible practice .

Aug 21, 23 6:28 pm  · 
3  · 
reallynotmyname

Yeah, and it's spawned a cohort of people in the architectural workforce who got trained to work that way.  A lot of the MEP engineers in the region are the same way.

Aug 21, 23 7:53 pm  · 
2  · 
AuburnWE