Archinect
anchor

Bad Grades.... Advice?

HannahLay

I receive my results in in two days and I'm really stressing out. I had a really bad three years at university, I chose the wrong university for myself and honestly I lacked so much motivation, had some personal issues (e.g. death in the family and some other issues). I'm a hard working individual, before my degree I completed a foundation diploma coming out with a distinction. So I genuinely just had a horrible three years at the university I went to. But regardless, It is on me. 

I am curious, should I resit my last two years at a different university to make up for the grades? I'm sure I'm either going to get a third or maybe a 2:2 if I'm lucky. Will my grades make a really big difference in continuing with this career path? I looked into masters programs and I need at least a 2:2 but Middlesex university states they take three years of experience as well instead. I'm not sure what to do, should I redo the two years or just find a job? If I were to redo the two years I'd do it at the university where I got my foundation diploma from. I have tried searching for a few 12 month Masters courses but the only think I can find is in UCL but its around 12,950 pounds. Would the 12 month masters be more effective than redoing the two years?

Jun 18, 17 8:39 am
TED

@hannah, also if your final year work(studio) was stronger or at a 2.1 or first, write your CV accordingly stating '2.1 final year design project'

Universities vary on how they calculate your final award - some use all your marks equally across 3 years and some only use the last 2 and weight the years differently.

Jun 18, 17 9:23 am  · 
 · 
randomised

Well, you already redid this post so I don't see why you couldn't repeat other, perhaps more important, aspects of your life...