Archinect
anchor

professional character modeler looking to learn how to do 3d architecture quickly

Emisphere66

Hi!

I've been working in the 3d field for around 10 years, i know my way very well around anything related to character modeling in 3dsmax and of course zbrush etc. 

I have some renos coming up and i'd like to do some pre-planning before meeting an actual architect. The project atm is the small backyard + retaining walls +stepping stones+balconies of duplex + stair to roof. And later i'd do the 3 floors of the house.

I need your help though to pick the right program. Should I keep going with 3dsmax, vray etc? i dont mind putting a few additional hours of learning if it's worth it, like a skill i could add to my cv or somethin. How long does it take to learn how to do floor plans and models stuff and light it with vray? Any prefabs i can buy from stores? Or should i just go with an easier program that's kind of all built in? I mean i would love to learn new skills but i do not plan to be a professional architect. So in short, how best to invest my time to learn? 

All suggestions welcome, thx in advance!

May 24, 17 1:03 pm
archietechie

Yep, 3dsMax + VRay would suffice. Modelling everything within a week is a safe window.

ADesk Revit would be a better alternative though.

May 24, 17 1:19 pm  · 
 · 
Spoons

No it wouldn't. He already knows max, that's more than sufficient for modeling.

Revit is a construction document generating program. He doesn't need that for what amounts to a 3D sketch of a backyard.

May 24, 17 8:49 pm  · 
 · 
Emisphere66

I'll take another look at Revit.

May 25, 17 4:06 pm  · 
 · 
Emisphere66

Is there any prefabs i can buy for any of those programs? like a bunch of different railings for balconies and material presets for wood etc. I mean, i can do it but it would speed up the process

May 25, 17 4:07 pm  · 
 · 
proto

not sure why you need to model your renovation before you've got a designer to help design it?