Archinect
anchor

Undergrad U.K. Or Canada

gorann
Hi everyone,

I am entering undergrad of 2017. I really need to make my uni choices and it is very hard. I am an international student and the idea of visiting those unis is out.

I applied to do architecture. I am mostly interested in its design side... I am open to career development - branching fields such as interior, landscape and may be even product design in the future.

Here is the short summary.

U of T (BA of Architectural Studies)- has a great ranking. Many people hate it, which scares me. However, I like Toronto and that the department is moving into a new building is also encouraging. It seems as a very theory based course and I am conserned about its design side. The department doesn't specify how many students are admitted this year. It concerns me if the no. is way to big. 4 years total.

U of Reading (BSc of Architecture)- 30 min train from London. Very young department. My year will be the second intake. Has a good build-construction school. Only 40 studens are admitted. Is it good or bad ? Sadly, Not yet RIBA accredited. 3 years total.

I also have Uni of Sheffield, but I was admitted to do Landscape Architecture, not architecture. I want to start from an architecture degree to make up my mind later. May be I could transfer/ change courses once I will be there, not sure though. It addly seems as a very non- international place to be. However, the arch school is very strong.

I also have Uni of Alberta - BDes. I liked that I could specify myself as a product- industrial designer in the future. It seems as very friendly place. Not as international may be, as would have liked.

I know it is such a mix. Really I am choosing between U of T and U of Reading.

How did you choose your university ? What was the main fact that sealed the deal ? What should I focus on the most when making the decision?

May 12, 17 7:24 pm
Non Sequitur