Archinect
anchor

Have to decide: UVA vs. UCLA vs. Middlebury

MikeS22

I got accepted into these three schools and would like some advice. I know UVA starts its B.S./B.A. Arch program on the first year vs UCLA on the third year (where it's maybe hard to get in from letters and science?). Middlebury also has an architectural studies course. Any thoughts on which school is best to then apply for an M.Arch I program afterwards?

Should I play it safe and go directly to the UVA school of architecture / choose an arch major in Middlebury, or go to UCLA and then apply to the Arch and Urban design school on sophmore year?

I'd also like to learn about the Middlebury arch program.

Thanks,

MS

Apr 21, 17 1:23 am
designer_jawn

Hello MS, 

Although I did not go to UVA's undergraduate program, I did for my M.ARCH. During my time there, I was a graduate TA for the architectural courses that you would take your first year. The first semester you take a course called Lessons in Making. The course calls for a lot of drawing, you do not have to be great at drawing. You're graded on improvement and effort. By the end of the semester, you will design a small pavilion. The course is basically giving the foundation for architectural drafting and sketching. The second semester will be your first studio. The projects vary in scale and are abstract thinking (design thinking). By the end of that semester, you would end with a group project to build a life size "living pod" made out of recycled materials. As far as the rest of your education there, there are a ton of professors from diverse backgrounds and have worked at some great firms around the world. There are some great connections to make. The projects vary in scale your last two years, from urban scale to building scale. You get to choose from 4-6 studios each fall semester. A couple studios are vertical studios, which allows you to take studios at the graduate level with graduate students. Also, UVA has an externship program whe