Archinect
anchor

SCI-Arc vs Wentworth Institute of Technology

alecmelkonian

Hey, I'm new to the forum and to architecture and I was recently accepted into both, Sci-Arc in LA and Wentworth Institute of Technology in Boston for their B.Arch programs. I did not receive a scholarship from Sci-Arc. However, I recieved a merit scholarship from Wentworth. I was just curious to know if people had more information and professional opinions on both programs and which one would they would consider. Thanks

Apr 2, 17 2:34 pm
WITgrad

Hi,

I graduated from WIT with a B.S. Arch degree in April of 2016. Within a month of graduation I had 5 interviews and two offers (partially because Denver's economy is booming!) but I felt prepared and successful in job seeking. I am now project managing at an arch-engineering firm specializing in telecom projects.

Wentworth's education and arch program is great in my opinion. Read: the program is great, Wentworth is mediocre and run by money hungry pricks, but maybe thats every school. For example, they just announced and broke ground for their second new building in the past four years, but we don't have color plotters, and the plotting room (two plotters, two color printers) is across campus from the arch studio. That was infuriating. 

The architecture department was fantastic. All of my professors were experienced and really overall great. Workload is heavy, but manageable. Your first mandatory internship is the summer of sophomore year, which I think is far too young considering all of the surrounding competition from other schools, but its great to graduate with two summers of internships. I felt very pushed and like my weaknesses were exposed and turned into strengths. They also offer a masters for only one year if you do it right after undergrad. They push it a lot, I did not do it as I want an outside experience.