Archinect
anchor

PennDesign vs Rice

pianranni

Hey guys, I am a M Arch I applicant this year with GPA 3.0, pretty bad GRE but a decent portfolio.      I got waitlisted on both schools. 

Just wanted to get more insights about both of these schools, I know Penn requires you to take 2 digital heavy studios in the first year, is it still like this now? What about later years, I saw some people still staying on the digital while others are having other approaches. I also saw there is Advanced Studio option in AA but only 15 people can get in.. How is it? 

I don't know too much about Rice, but their work seems less digital and more emphasis on physical modeling. Also what do you guys think about the small class environment and location in Houston in general? I am a international student and I wanna explore around the globe after graduation. 

I personally leaning towards PennDesign, although I am not at all familiar with Maya and those crazy forms but I think it is a valuable tool to learn and it all depends on how you use it.

Mar 17, 17 4:23 pm
mmarktfsi

Hey there, since nobody has responded yet, I'd be happy to provide you some insight into the PennDesign program. 

I graduated from Penn's M.Arch 1 program last year. I was accepted with Advanced Standing, meaning that my program length skipped the first year. 

From what I have seen and heard, many of the studios offered in the first year are very digital heavy, and you may be encouraged to learn Maya as a program medium. From what I have learned about Penn and its philosophy, is that no particular course or instructor will force your hand in any medium unless it is absolutely beneficial to your work.