Archinect
anchor

M.Arch with no previous architectural background

ssssds

Hello,

I'm an international student with B.A in psychology. I got accepted from U.Penn and U.Michigan M.arch1 program this year without financial aid.

I have a few question and hope some people give me advice.

- Would it be worth to attend M.arch program paying $40,000 per year?

Since I have no background, everything I learn in gardschool would be very new and interesting for me. However, M.arch programs are too expensive and it does not guarantee anything about my profession or salary after graduation. 

Recently I'm thinking of pursuing B.arch instead of M.arch, probably in European countries. B.arch program in Europe might take longer time to complete the degree, but the tuition fee is much cheaper than M.arch programs in the U.S.

What do you think? Do you think 'master' program and title is worth for that much tuition fees in architecture field? 

- I'm currently in age 25. Is it too late to start a new career path?

If I pursue and complete architecture degree from now on, I will be almost 30 year-old when graduating school. Does 'age' affect much when getting a job?

Many people told me not to get into architecture field, unless I passionately want it. I know it is tough profession to follow, but at the same time I think it is very interesting and fascinating field. I'm not sure if I have enough 'passion' for it, but at least I like it. If I am hesitating, would it be better not to pursue architecture?

Please comment any opinion or advice. Thank you!

Mar 15, 17 12:43 pm
StarvingDesigner