Archinect
anchor

EU masters portfolio critique

nn1993

Hi, 

I'm on the process of applying for a couple of universities in Europe for my master degree of architecture. 

I sent in this portfolio and got an offer from IOA Vienna and an invitation for an interview at The AA Diploma School soon. I am also applying for KADK and Aarhus in Denmark.

I still have some time to edit my portfolio before i spend money to print the portfolio out for the interview and to pack and send my applications to Denmark. I studied in New Zealand so i find it hard to figure out what the schools and admission panels expect in Europe. Any feedback is really appreciated! 

My Portfolio

Happy new year and thanks heaps. 

Jan 4, 17 11:47 am
paulgermaine
NN thanks for exposing your work. I see very specific intentions with the colors, typography and the narrative. I won't really talk about that because I can see the choices you have made and think they should stay as they are. With that said, my 2 cents are more about ways to refine the layout.

The opening paragraphs are a bit wide. If your critic is unlikely to read them before they will for sure not read it now. I suggest making them narrower and perhaps condense the message or split it for the end. What I find very intriguing about the cover that then got lost on the inside was the clean background with one image. More of this austerity could be nice on the inside and tie your work better. Some spreads have it, others are a bit saturated - but again, certain spreads seem to own this collage well but others need to tease more and not give everything away. I think you have a very specific message to convey. Let less of the work talk for you (if that makes sense). Last, I notice about 5 spreads have items right where the binding would go. If this will only be viewed online by the schools, perfect, but otherwise, consider that editing to help clean up the spreads.