Archinect
anchor

USC + SCI-ARC Undergraduate Transfer Help

zac97

Hello! I am new to Archinect so sorry in advance if I have accidentally posted in the wrong section of the forum! 

I am currently a freshman at Parsons' BFA for architectural design. I am considering continuing my undergraduate degree elsewhere, and I really like USC and SCI-ARC. I know that most of my courses will probably not transfer over to SCI-ARC. However, among their various pros/cons I would really like some help and advice on what to include in my portfolio when applying. All and any help would be very useful!

While I have researched a lot of SCI-ARC, I am still have many questions about the school. I have heard it creates very abstract design and its very digital. If you have anything you could share about the small school that I may have learned from other threads about it on Archinect, I would greatly appreciate it as well! Thank you. 

Nov 14, 16 9:14 pm
Driko

Hi @zac97

I suggest you stay at parsons and complete your BFA in Architectural Design. The main reason i say is because when you transfer to other architecture programs, more likely than not they will make you take their studio design courses. These Studios never transfer. 

Sci- Arc will take you another 5 years to complete and at USC you will essentially be a freshman again. So at sci are you will have an accredited professional degree and USC you will not. 

Sci- arc 5 years + 1 year parsons.

USC 4 years + 1 year parsons. 

Sci- arc is very theoretical and you will explore the newest trends in architecture such as parametric design. I dont know much about USC but i image they follow SCI- arc and UCLA but with a bit more practicality. In my opinion learn skills that are practical vs theoretical.