Archinect
anchor

Architectural Research

nathanehrlich

Hi everyone, so I am a student at a large university getting my B.S. in Arch and I want to take advantage of the student research opportunities. I need to submit a research proposal to a faculty member at the university. I am trying to figure out what topic I should research. Does anyone have any topics that they were interested in that maybe involve a deep dive into research? Or what are the hottest topic in architecture now that involved analyzing and research? Thanks!

Nov 1, 16 3:03 pm

I would research why there are so many architecture students who don't seem to be passionate about architecture, since they keep asking for help on topics to research. Sorry, but are you that disinterested in your chosen field of study that you have to ask a question like this?

What are you interested in? Research it. Done!

Nov 1, 16 3:15 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Spot on Kevin.

I guess Google is broken today. Damn lazy students.

Nov 1, 16 3:23 pm  · 
 · 

Architectural typologies of Donut Shops in Los Angeles

Sexy Architecture: Whorehouses of Nevada.

Can you make it in Jello: Famous Buildings made Jiggly

Seriously, my research fellowship was studying the museums of a Norwegian architect because I love museums, wanted to go to Norway, and it ended up tying into my thesis. Figure out your own voice, not what everyone else thinks is hot.

Nov 1, 16 3:26 pm  · 
 · 
nathanehrlich

I wanted to start an intelligent conversation about what interests professionals in the field. I wasn't asking you to do my research for me I was asking opinions of people who are actually experienced. I am a second year student and wanted to learn and get experience. But thank you for your the incredibly insightful comments Kevin and Non Sequitur.

Nov 1, 16 3:29 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

"Or what are the hottest topic in architecture now that involved analyzing and research?"