Archinect
anchor

Need Advice from Working Architects - Digital Signatures?

raspberry_cat_

Hello all - I'm an admin assistant working at a small firm, getting exposure to the field before pursuing an MArch I in the next few years... but that's not important! 

Small firm (6 including myself), oldschool folks. We got an email from Tampa Codes this morning saying that our scanned signatures (on drawing plans) aren't good enough and that we should look into 3rd party digital signature software.

I don't have much experience in signing drawing plans as an architect... and my coworkers are not-at-all used to digital signatures, so we are at a loss to approach this issue.

I've spent all day looking up different services but all of them seem to be specialized in signing contracts rather than stamping drawing plans... Docusign, Hellosign, all seem to stop at "sign here" and sticking cool fonts and sending them back. 

Working architects - how do you approach this dilemma? 

Thanks so much in advance.

Oct 25, 16 3:12 pm
Non Sequitur

Full digital stamp/signature and everything is bound together in a way that you can't pick the stamp out of the pdfs.  Our engineers on the hand still hand stamp drawings and send them to a large format scanner company before sending us pdfs.  

Oct 25, 16 3:16 pm  · 
 · 
raspberry_cat_

Non Sequitur- Yeah, we've been stamping by hand etc. and probably will continue to do so, unless everyone switches like Tampa...

What 3rd party services does your firm use? 

Oct 25, 16 3:21 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

that's dumb - everybody uses scanned signed stamps (even municipalities that require wet stamps can't tell the difference).  If they want docusign, they should tell you what service to use for a digital plan submittal.  This is the the kind of bureaucratic bullshit that makes me think we should just get rid of plan checkers all together.  Maybe your state board has a preference on the use of digital stamps - look it up.

Oct 25, 16 3:23 pm  · 
 ·