Archinect
anchor

How is the architecture market in New York at the moment?

Hi Everyone!

I am a french architect hired in an international firm in Paris and I have 6 years post graduate experience working mainly on commercial/ retail projects. I am keen to move to US and New York would be my first choice but I would like to have first your overview regarding the architecture market in NY at the moment. Is it easy to find a job as architect in NY at the moment? Do you have good recruitment agencies that you could recommend me? Thanks in advance for your tips!

May 24, 16 10:36 am
Archinect

archibaldfrance - it's safe to say that this is one of the easiest times to find a job in New York in years. Look at Archinect's job board - there are almost 600 active job ads in New York alone. 

Many firms are unable or unwilling to sponsor a visa, if you're not a US resident, so it's advisable that you start that process on your own, if you can. 

The feedback we're receiving from firms is that it's really difficult to find good talent these days. Unemployment rates are really low for architects right now, so firms are seeing far fewer applicants fighting for available positions than in previous years. If you're good, and you put in a strong effort into your application and job search, your chances of landing a job in architecture are better than ever. 

May 24, 16 10:42 am  · 
 · 
no_form
I'm not sure we are at the point that h-1b visas are going to be sponsored when there are plenty of people already here who need jobs. Maybe the big name offices will have the budgets and need.

One of my colleagues is being sponsored but is responsible for all the legal fees. It's over $2000. Make sure you have that in your back pocket if needed.
May 24, 16 11:45 am  · 
 · 
sandraArchi_Pop