Archinect
anchor

AA DRL vs IaaC vs ETH DFAB 2016

GNUKABIN

Hi all 

I've been considering for the master program in this 2016. I've applied to all those 3 school listed, and some more. It would be nice if people in this forum could share your opinion on these 3 school programs, first hand experience would be very appreciated. 

My brief background is that I am an international architect from Asia ( Thailand ) ( Sorry in advance, If my English is bad ). I'm 29 and have 7 years of architectural practice ( 5 in the office and 2 on my own ). I have worked on variety of projects, including products, interior, architectural and event  or concert designs. I found myself love doing architectural installation and small scale fabrication more than building or interior design. May be because I've been doing it for so many years and I want to get away from the boring stuffs such as regulations, site works and serious construction drawing. I have an interest in digital fabrication and computational design, and I would love to experience living abroad from my home town, also may be having an opportunity to work in international design firm. I have been accepted from both AA DRL and IaaC but still waiting for the ETH DFAB.

For now my top choice is AA DRL but it is quite expensive. I have some saving plus support from my family. London as I believe has much of things to see and experience. I have reached out to many students and they all say LONDON IS AMAZING !, and I believe it is. Plus AA has a very solid reputation that has been going on for many years. ( Eventhough for the DRL course, some may say it's all about morphogenesis and bioshit << read it somewhere on this forum). It is also an 16 months program which is good for me as I prefer to stay for more than one year to be worth the time I have to spend.